Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 7, 2025

The Honorable Chris Wright, Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20585

Dear Secretary Wright:

As bipartisan members of the California delegation, we write with concern about reports that the U.S. Department of Energy is planning to cancel the hydrogen hub award commitment made to California's Alliance for Renewable Clean Hydrogen Energy Systems (ARCHES). As the administration evaluates existing energy investments and pathways to make energy affordable, we respectfully urge you to continue supporting the Alliance for Renewable Clean Hydrogen Energy Systems Hub in California. ARCHES plays a critical role in securing American energy dominance, advancing world-leading energy technology, creating new manufacturing jobs, and lowering energy costs for American families

In July 2024, the Office of Clean Energy Demonstrations (OCED) awarded \$30 million to the California Hydrogen Hub through the Alliance for Renewable Clean Hydrogen Energy Systems to initiate hydrogen hub projects, following its selection as one of seven regional hubs in October 2023. These projects – and the economic growth and American jobs they support – are dispersed across the State of California from the Ports of Los Angeles, Long Beach, and Oakland to the reservation of the Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians to Lancaster, California. The investment is already being used to bring together private industry, local governments, and community organizations to collaborate and build a secure, American-made energy future. As California's Hydrogen Hub, ARCHES anticipates the creation of 220,000 good paying jobs, from research and development (R&D) to manufacturing and maintenance of renewable hydrogen systems. This, in turn, promotes public-private partnerships to expand our STEM workforce.

We view ARCHES as a strategic investment in American energy innovation, an all-of-the-above energy strategy, and energy independence and competitiveness. With that, we respectfully request that you continue supporting ARCHES and provide time for the California hub and its member organizations to further justify their vital role in meeting the energy goals of the administration.

Thank you, and we look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

¹ https://www.energy.gov/oced/articles/award-wednesdays-july-17-2024

² https://www.energy.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/H2Hubs%20ARCHES_Award%20Fact%20Sheet.pdf

³ https://archesh2.org/arches-officially-launches/

George Whitesides
Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff
United States Senator

Young Kim Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Vince Fong

Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress Alex Padilla
United States Senator

Wike Ten

Mark Jalan

Mike Levin Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO
Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren
Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress



Derek T. Tran Member of Congress

immy Panetta
Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Nancy Pelosi

Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Sarament.

Laura Friedman
Member of Congress

Jaun Friedra

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragan Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia

Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Member of Congress

Roul Ruiz

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez

Member of Congress

Winds J. Jan

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress

Adam Gray

Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress