## United States Senate

## WASHINGTON, DC 20510

March 6, 2025

The Honorable Brooke Rollins, Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Ave SW Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Rollins,

We write to express our significant concerns about the suspension of the USDA Hispanic-Serving (HSI) E. Kika De La Garza (EKDLG) Fellowship Program and to ask that you immediately reinstate it.

The EKDLG Fellowship Program was established in 1998 by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and the program has had consistent support from every presidential administration since its establishment. The program strengthens educational partnerships between faculty, staff, and administrators from HSIs and USDA.

The EKDLG Fellowship Program is non-partisan and supports increasing the professional development, workforce development, and exposure opportunities for faculty, staff, and students nationwide. USDA's partnership with HSIs and Hispanic Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACUs) plays a vital role in establishing a collaborative relationship and creating a nationwide network of educators working with USDA to help grow the next generation of the American agricultural workforce. These fellowships are open to faculty, staff, and administrators of all backgrounds that are employed at HSIs or Hispanic-Serving School Districts and students of all backgrounds are eligible to participate.

HSIs are economic engines and shape our nation's agricultural workforce. In 2022, HSIs enrolled 5.2 million students, including 66% of all Hispanic undergraduate students and over 31% of all college students in non-profit postsecondary institutions in the country. Programs like the EKDLG Fellowship Program equip educators with the tools to help students reach their full potential and support the nation's agricultural workforce pipeline. For example, the list of 2024 EKDLG participants shows the program's nationwide impact:

- 1. **University of Houston**, Sugar Land, Texas
- 2. New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, New Mexico
- 3. The University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
- 4. Arizona Western College, Yuma, Arizona
- 5. Coastal Bend College, Beeville, Texas
- 6. Adams State University, Alamosa, Colorado
- 7. California State University, Chico, Chico, California
- 8. **Montclair State University**, Montclair, New Jersey
- 9. Texas A&M University, Kingsville, Texas
- 10. Mesa Community College, Mesa, Arizona

- 11. Hartnell College, Salinas, California
- 12. Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas
- 13. City Colleges of Chicago, Harold Washington College, Chicago, Illinois
- 14. Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
- 15. Maricopa Community Colleges, Tempe, Arizona
- 16. University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut
- 17. Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove, Illinois
- 18. Northern Arizona University, Yuma, Arizona
- 19. University of California, Santa Barbara, California
- 20. Cuesta College, San Luis Obispo, California
- 21. University of Texas, San Antonio, Texas
- 22. CUNY New York City College of Technology, Brooklyn, New York
- 23. CUNY Hunter College, New York, New York
- 24. Florida International University, Miami, Florida
- 25. California State University, Fresno, California
- 26. Arizona State University, Mesa, Arizona
- 27. Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas
- 28. The University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley, Edinburg, Texas
- 29. Mt. Adams School District #209, White Swan, Washington
- 30. The Urban Assembly New York Harbor School, New York, New York
- 31. **John Bowne High School**, Flushing, New York

The Department's decision to suspend EKDLG Fellowship Program threatens the U.S. agricultural workforce pipeline and the opportunities this program provides educators and students nationwide.

We urge you to immediately reinstate the E. Kika De La Garza Fellowship Program, similar to Department's reinstatement of the 1890 National Scholars Program, and to collaborate with Congress to ensure its long-term stability.

Sincerely,

Alex Padilla

**United States Senator** 

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Ranking Member, Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and

Forestry

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet
United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin
United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Bernard Sanders
United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Ruben Gallego United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Adam B. Schiff
United States Senator