May 26, 2023

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington DC, 20590

Re: Support for the West Coast Truck Charging and Fueling Corridor Project through the US Department of Transportation's Charging and Fueling Infrastructure Discretionary Grant Program Notice of Funding Opportunity 693JJ323NF00004

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

We strongly support the grant application from the States of California, Oregon and Washington for the West Coast Truck Charging and Fueling Corridor Project through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law's Charging and Fueling Infrastructure program.

This multistate project will support early deployment of infrastructure for zero-emission trucks along the major freight centers across California to Washington. This first-of-its-kind project will create a network of charging and hydrogen fueling stations and enable zero-emission trucking from Mexico to Canada, linking ports and major freight centers in California, Oregon and Washington.

The project will play a critical role in alleviating significant air pollution and global warming emissions associated with medium- and heavy-duty vehicles. The cities and regions that will benefit from this project constitute the majority of the most polluted areas in the United States, based on the major categories of air pollution tracked by the American Lung Association.

This project will further support key policy actions in California, Oregon and Washington that require the sale of zero-emission trucks beginning in model year 2024. This investment will be critical to scaling the zero-emission truck industry and job creation expected with this transition.

The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) is creating transformational improvements to our nation's transportation systems to increase transportation safety, decrease emissions and improve the local health of our constituents. The West Coast Truck Charging and Fueling Corridor Project is an important tri-state initiative to achieve these outcomes.

Thank you for your careful consideration of this critically important project.

Sincerely,

Pete Aguilar

Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

United States Senator

Nancy Pelosi Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Janament.

Robert Garcia Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Sydney Ramlager Dove Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress Katie Porter

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jan

Adam B. Schiff

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman

Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

wellurell

Mark Takano

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Juan Vargas